About a week ago, the economist and I bagged an entire salmon for £10. That meant one fleshy head, 2 fillets, 6 substantial steaks… All for £10. While I usually despair over the prices of everything in London, I have to say that things got a lot better once I discovered Chapel Market!

DSCF6306

sadly not descaled, so I had to do it myself

Another ‘habit’ I picked up was that of keeping a sharp eye out for “Reduced” or “Manager/Store specials” in the places I shop in. This has produced many good results in the past: for instance, we once got 8 figs for £1.88 (99p for a box of 4) from Waitrose as they were on clearance. The figs were not off or rotten or anything – just almost literally bursting with ripeness. Today, I was perusing flaxseeds at Holland&Barrett when the economist got quite excited about a Manager special: 99p reduced from £3.99 for a box of 7 products from the Linwoods line! Given that each sachet weighed 25g, it was an extremely good buy and we might have wiped out the entire shelf (to be fair, there were only 7 boxes left!). The situation was honestly quite amusing, at least to me since I burst out laughing. No joke though, the amount of money we saved!

Speaking about money – I tend to be quite minimalist when it comes to my cooking/kitchen. I believe in investing in good quality basic ingredients, and once you have that, you can create pretty good food without much complication. In this case: teriyaki sauce.

Where I grew up, teriyaki chicken/beef/salmon/and so on, is really common and I distinctly remember having teriyaki chicken don (rice bowl) in my secondary school canteen. It was quite popular and the queues were really long during break! Teriyaki sauce can be easily purchased in a bottle, and to be honest, I have one sitting in the fridge in Singapore. However, on a recent trip to Japan centre, I took a look at the ingredients list and was rather amused by how long and complicated it was! Instead of buying it, I bought some mirin instead. Seeing how useful it has turned out to be, I think it was a much better investment than teriyaki sauce because it is so easy to make the latter.

In case you didn’t know, teriyaki sauce is so simple to make that I think it’s almost criminally so. Having did a brief perusal of my usual food blogs, I settled upon that at norecipes, where it was basically equal parts soy sauce, mirin, sake, honey. The sake can be omitted, as I have done so in the past due to unavailability that has happily been resolved. However, I do think the sake lends the sauce a subtle fragrance that is really quite enjoyable.

Feeling rather lazy, I decided to do a quick dinner – salmon steak simmered in teriyaki sauce with buckwheat soba noodles. Simple, but definitely good.

DSCF6350

Comfort food at its best

Speaking of simple: two days back we attended a Food Appreciation Society potluck gathering. I must say I am very glad that it was indeed what it said it was: a Food Appreciation Society (you will be surprised how many clubs and societies are basically covers for drinking) Since it was my long day (class at 9am, and my day ends at 5pm), I could not make anything. The economist took the chance to showcase his amazing talents with dessert, and the reception to his Raspberry Cheesecake and Fresh Fruit Tarts was overwhelming. Indeed – the glowing praise left him glowing for a long while!

He might do a guest post on his dessert skills some time soon, so keep an eye out for that! Till then, pictures to tempt you.

DSCF6347

Raspberry cheesecake - completely devoured

DSCF6342

As was this vegan tart for the lactose intolerant (Coughsme)

